I’ve had a 10 lb brisket sitting in a fridge, vacuum sealed, for over a week, hoping to smoke it but just could not carve out enough time from my busy schedule for that. Instead, I trimmed the brisket, ending up with a uniformly thick, 5-pound piece of meat, marinated it in my favorite mustard sauce and roasted in the oven at 275F. It only took about 5 hours to fully cook this oven brisket and the meat turned out just as juicy and succulent as I get on a smoker. Of course, it lacked the smoky flavor and the amazing bark, and looked quite pale in comparison. Fixing the color was super easy – I turned the broiler on high and let the brisket brown until it reached a beautiful dark brown color. I did not time how long it took, but it was in the 6-10 minutes range. I actually planned on using the broiler at the end so I only roasted to 195F so that the final internal temperature wouldn’t exceed 200F.

Overall, I loved the results and will definitely be making this oven brisket again. If you crave that smoky flavor, feel free to add some liqiud smoke.     

Oven Roasted Brisket - 43Oven Roasted Brisket - 62Oven Roasted Brisket - 91Oven Roasted Brisket - 80